education

teach me how to walk
step by step
teach me how to talk
word by word
teach me how to be
act by act

you taught me
how to be the person i am today
you taught me
how to interact with others
how to show respect
how to be wary
how to put my best into everything i do

teach me how to write
sentence by sentence
teach me how to solve problems
equation by equation
teach me how to communicate
speech by speech

you taught me
what it takes to learn
you taught me
what it means to be a student
what it means to follow orders
what it means to stay on task
what it means to listen

teach me how to work with others
hand by hand
teach me how to strategize
x by o
teach me how to connect
person by person

you taught me
when i must lead and when i must follow
you taught me
when timing means the most
when actions are incredibly crucial
when you must step up to the plate
when two is greater than one

teach me how to grow up
root by root
teach me how to leave with everything i’ve learned
lesson by lesson
teach me how to start anew
trail by trail

you all have taught me
who i am and who i may become
you all have taught me
who will be there whenever i fall
who will guide me even from miles and miles away
who i must strive to be at the end of it all
who was there to teach me, and who i must go on to teach on my own someday

Leave a Reply

