what are you going to do?

ask me a question
that i don’t know the answer to
ask me a question
that will make me stop and think
ask me a question
that will leave me momentarily speechless

four plus four
equals eight
there’s a difference
between there, their, and they’re
there’s a science
behind everything around us

here lies so many facts
so many reasons of being
and so many answers

you could ask
why the sky looks blue
why the moon changes its shape
why the stars scatter in these intricate conglomerations
why grass is green
why foods taste differently from one another
why bodies work the way they do

you could ask
millions of questions
and be given a clear, logical
answer

but you can’t always receive that sort of response
sometimes the answer you’re looking for
doesn’t come very easily

ask me a question i don’t know the answer to
like
what i am going to do
where i am going to go
who i am going to meet
when i am going to do it
how i am going to accomplish it

ask me a question that will stop and make me think
like
what happens when we die?
why does segregation exist?
who gets to decide my value as a person?
how does my appearance determine my worth in society?

ask me a question that will leave me speechless
like
how
after thousands of years
and generations of people
are we still making the same mistakes?
making divisions?
causing riots and unnecessary uproar?
fighting for a power that dominates so meaninglessly?
judging ideas that aren’t our job to judge?

in a world
where all of these questions exist
how do the small ones measure up against the huge ones?
how do my problems hold any real significance
in the grand scheme of things?

you and me
us and people
populations and continents
land and oceans
earth and the universe
a single question
simply pulls and prods at a problem
instead of acting on it head on

why observe
when you can connect?

ask me a question.

Leave a Reply

